Night of Excellence


Jul 13, 2019


Marriott Marquis Houston | Houston Ballroom


6:00pm - 10:00pm

This is our industry's night to shine! Texas Restaurant Association leaders and other industry luminaries honor outstanding individuals who have contributed so much to our industry. We will present the Educator Excellence Award, Carmelo Mauro Award, and Outstanding Restaurateur Awards; induct industry icons into the Hall of Honor; and thank our outgoing association leaders as we welcome in new leaders for 2019-2020. And of course, there's great food, cocktails and conversation!

Ticket Information

Individual Ticket - $300
Sponsored Table for 8 Guests - $3,000


Cocktail Reception - 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Dinner and Program - 7:00 - 10:00 p.m.

Richie Jackson Retirement Reception

Please join us in honoring the legacy of Richie Jackson at this year's Night of Excellence cocktail reception. Richie is retiring after 34 years as CEO and 47 years with the Association. Jackson’s retirement marks the end of an era for the TRA. Under his leadership, the association addressed such issues as worker’s compensation reform, efforts to increase the minimum wage and a host of other legislative issues.


tanji pattonTanji Patton
Executive Producer

Tanji is an Emmy award winning journalist pursuing her passion for wine and food. Tanji explores the inviting worlds of chefs, wine makers and culinary newsmakers. Her snappy, fun videos entice even the most novice of chefs to get into the kitchen and create…with a glass of wine nearby, of course.

Hundreds of thousands view her Goodtaste content via a wide range of media. Tanji is the Executive Producer and host of Goodaste with Tanji, a television series that showcases chefs and restaurants from all over the state. The show airs in 15 Texas markets, including Nashville. She also produces a digital show at Read more...

Award Winners

Hall of Honor

Roger Lumley
Papacita's Mexican Restaurant
East Texas Chapter

Estella Martinez
Matt's Rancho Martinez
Greater Dallas Restaurant Association

Mike Shine
Frank's Americana Revival
Greater Houston Restaurant Association

Educator Excellence

BJ Salter
John Marshall High School
Northside ISD
San Antonio, Texas

Carmelo Mauro Award: The Spirit of Generosity

To be Announced at the Gala

Outstanding Restaurateur Awards

Richard Dewitt Jr.
Clear Springs Restaurant
East Texas Chapter

Jerry Maddox
Rio Grande Valley Chapter

Yolanda Franco
Western Sky Steakhouse
San Angelo Chapter

Chris Berry
River Smith's
Lubbock Chapter

Ed Huston
Jason's Deli
Coastal Bend Chapter

Tilman Fertitta
Greater Houston Restaurant Association

TRA PAC Awards

Non-Metro Category
Coastal Bend Chapter

Metro Category
San Antonio Restaurant Association

Top Donor Category
Russell Ybarra Greater Houston Restaurant Association

Buy Tickets